JUST PASSING

The Raider varsity football team, the 1990 North Jersey, Section 2, Group III champion, finished their '91 season at 4-5 under new head coach Steve Ciccotelli.

The team played a very tough schedule, facing three top 20 teams, including the #1 team in the state, and four teams that qualified for the playoffs. Nevertheless, they finished 4-1 in the Watchung conference and won the title.

"We had a lot of key fumbles on key plays," Bill Carthens said.
"Every week was a challenge," Ciccotelli said. "The season was a couple of bounces from being an outstanding year. One thing that we can all be proud of was that our team always played hard and gave their best effort every

On offense, they were led by a line that included seniors Mike Raub, Mike Sirdashney, Marc Gottlick, Mike Muselli and Jason DelGandio. The line consistently opened holes for senior Lance Bolden, one of the best running backs in the conference, plus quarterback Rameek Wright and fullback Kareem McDowell.

On defense, the Raiders were led by cornerback Kellie Cassett, linebacker Dave Oslislo, defensive end Carthens,

and cornerback Tyler Fowler, all seniors.
"The defense played hard, hit hard, and always set the physical tempo for the games," Ciccotelli said. Seniors also were prominent on special teams. They included Warren Davies, Curtis Barlow, and Ikeen Peterson. "It was truly an enjoyable season because of the players and coaches associated with our program," Ciccotelli said. "To our players that never quit, you will always be champions."







Varsity Team: Top Row, L-R: Henry Specht, Lance Bolden, Matt Anglim, Kashan Davis, Shawn Roberts, Mike Sirdashney, David Oslislo, Roy Woodton. Second Row, L-R: Wayne Myers, Walter Wells, Tom Paterson, Taj Jones, Curtis Barlow, Keith Alcove, Alim Starks, Kellie Cassett. Middle Row, L-R: Coaches: John Maggio, Peter D'Alonzo, Steve Ciccotelli, Mark Ciccotelli, Eric Rosenmier, Mr. Graves. Fourth Row, L-R: Jayson Cirelli, Warren Davies, Michael Musselli, Anthony Wright, Ryjon Burke, Michael Raub, Marc Gottlick, Tieshone Andrews. Bottom Row, L-R: Kareem McDowell, Matthew Beehner, Calvin Waller, Abdul Magid, Robert Musselli, Billy Carthens, Lamont Gonzalez, Jason DelGandio.

