Pugsley were all elected between 1841 and 1844, and filled the office well and faithfully. Randolph G. Silvers was also an efficient deacon. Jared S. Stout and L. H. K. Smalley have also served the church honorably and satisfactorily until they were called up higher.

During the last fifteen years or more, William Archbold, David Hand, Dr. J. A. Coles and Thomas Mead have consecratedly and devoutly occupied the office. Deacon Mead removed to Spring Valley, N. Y., last year, and resigned his position.

CLERKS.

As appears by the minutes, those who have performed the duties of clerk, have been Recompense Stanbery, Ichabod Valentine, Jr., David Morris, Robert F. Randolph, Aaron Ball, Ezra Darby, Jonathan Hand Osborn, Jonathan Osborn, Jr., Alexander Wilson, C. O. Meeker, Thomas Ward, O. M. Putnam, L. H. K. Smalley, Thomas Cleaver, R. C. Treadwell and George Dunn.

Bro. Dunn is now acting in that capacity. Thus the church has been fully officered during all the years of its existence. Even during the dark times of the Revolutionary Struggle, while the minutes of that period are scant and unsatisfactory, and the business meetings irregular, yet the church maintained its existence, and kept the banner of the cross in sight.

MISCELLANEOUS.

The church has always defended Baptist principles: among these, soul liberty, or rights of conscience, by which our fathers understood that every one has a right to think and believe without