then quietly allowed to drop out of sight. Those who occupied this position were William Darby, Recompense Stanbery, Peter Wilcox, John Stites, Samuel Drake, Samuel Doty, John Blackford and Joseph Manning.

Recompense Stanbery and William Darby were the first deacons. They were elected at the first business meeting of the church, October 14, 1747. They were chosen to the double office of Deacon and Ruling Elder. They served faithfully and well until their death. Joseph Allen was elected April 6, 1748, and retained the office until his death in 1797.

Gabriel Ogden and Samuel Brooks were elected in July, 1765. Deacon Ogden was dismissed upon his removal to Sussex Co., and Deacon Brooks died March 24, 1788.

Joseph F. Randolph was elected July 30, 1777, and died in 1782.

David Morris was elected in October, 1777, and served until he removed to Kentucky in 1788.

Daniel Drake was a deacon and died October 1, 1777.

Nathaniel Drake was a younger brother of Daniel, and became a deacon and discharged his duties until his death in 1801.

Noah Clark was chosen a deacon and served until his death in 1801, a period of about ten years.

Benjamin Blackford was elected in 1791, and served until his removal to Samptown at the organization of that church.

Melvin Parse was appointed to succeed Deacon Blackford, and served thirty-four years until the time of his death in 1827.