

SCOTCH PLAINS GOVERNMENT

"Government is a trust, and the officers of the government are trustees; and both the trust and the trustees are created for the benefit of the people." — Clay

After incorporation in 1877, Scotch Plains operated under a Township Committee form of government. The governing body was composed of five elected committeemen, each with equal power. This "multi-headed" form of government was particularly suited to a rural area with a small population. However, as the township developed and the population grew, and the requirements demanded of government became increasingly diverse and complex, the need for a change became apparent. In 1971, under authority stemming from the New Jersey Optional Municipal Charter Law, enacted in 1950, the Council and the electorate voted to adopt a new form of government, the Council-Manager Form, Plan E. This became effective January 1, 1973.

The major difference between the two forms is the division of governmental responsibilities into two distinct areas, the Council being the one with legislative and policy-making functions, and the Manager being the chief executive and administrative official of Scotch Plains government.